HMI Music NEWS and Discussions

DOLA'S VALCOURT HAS INTERESTING LEGACY THOUGHTS...READ!

DOLA'S VALCOURT HAS INTERESTING LEGACY THOUGHTS...READ!

Postby kompamagazine » Thu Apr 07, 2016 3:35 am

*KOMPA MAGAZINE: NEXT YEAR will be 10 years for DOLA MIZIK in the industry. If we were writing a CHAPTER in terms of what the band has done in the business for the 10 years...or 9 years PLUS....what would the chapter say in terms of LEGACY?
VALCOURT: "Dola Mizik, a Musical reference in the konpa world of today's HMI... It's no secret for no one that Dola Mizik has produced among the best konpa albums in the haitian music industry, and still remains as reference for many musicians. Something that all of us in the band are very proud of."

*KOMPA MAGAZINE: If DOLA were to call it quits today....would u be satisfied with what you describe as your LEGACY?
VALCOURT: "Oh No... On the contrary I'm just getting started. My mission in the music world is way bigger than Dola. Understand that there's a whole new generation of young and extremely talented artists/musicians out there, and there's no one willing to create a platform for this coming generation. Everybody tells you the music is dying but they'll give you every excuse as to why they're not helping. I'm not looking forward to being remembered as superstar; I lived that life already spending over 5 years with one of the most successful haitian konpa bands, travelling the world PHANTOMS. I want to remembered as one of the few who helped put another generation of haitian musicians on the map of our musical history. One of the very few who helped change our music industry for the better.

The Industry won't live long if we don't invest our talents in the future. We need to start creating YOUNG NEW SUPERSTARS....Artists my 13 year old daughter can relate to. They need their Haitian Justin Bieber too. You tell me how old is the youngest Haitian Superstar... I'll wait."